Find A Club

Recent News

First Aid Course 31/07/2022

All News


Latest news from clubsportnl.

NL Sports Award Winners 2018

Posted: Friday 22 June 2018

North Lanarkshire's Sport Awards celebrate the achievements of people involved in club sport, school sport and volunteers throughout the area.

To celebrate the occasion an awards ceremony took place at Motherwell Football Club hosted by Tam Cowan. 

This year a record number of nominations were received, making the job of selecting winners for each of the twelve categories all the harder.

Cllr Frank McNally, Convener of Education, said: "It has been another great year for sport within North Lanarkshire with huge numbers of young people participating on a regular basis.

"The awards are in recognition of the provision and support for these activities - which make such a difference to so many people in our communities. The 2018 North Lanarkshire Sport Award winners are:

  • Official of the Year, sponsored by NLC Active Schools: Grant Bonar, Wado Kai Karate
  • Young Volunteer of the Year, sponsored by clubSportNL: Robyn Gowrie, Active Schools, Bellshill
  • Community Coach of the Year, sponsored by Tillicoultry Quarries: Craig Peattie, Clyde Powerchair FC
  • Primary Sports Champion sponsored by NLC Active Schools: Frank Connelly, All Saint's Primary, Airdrie
  • Secondary Sport Champion, sponsored by Specsavers Airdrie and Coatbridge: Jamie Parker, Cumbernauld Academy
  • Primary Sports School of the Year, sponsored by Muller: St Serf's Primary School, Airdrie
  • Secondary Sports School of the Year, sponsored by Muller: Cumbernauld Academy
  • Club of the Year, sponsored by Tunnock's: Clyde Powerchair FC
  • Young Persons Coach of the Year, sponsored by NLC Enterprise and Housing Resources: Richard Leach, Motherwell AAC
  • Young Coach of the Year, sponsored by Muller: Alexander Miller, Cumbernauld Colts
  • Volunteer of the Year, sponsored by Specsavers Wishaw, Motherwell and Bellshill: Ally Sinclair, NL Chiefs Basketball Club
  • Lifetime Achievement Award, sponsored by Motherwell Football Club: Frank Delaney, Springhill ABC

Fiona Sinclair, Active Schools Manager, added: "A special thank must go to our sponsors who have made this event possible, Specsavers in Wishaw, Motherwell, Bellshill, Airdrie and Coatbridge,  Muller, clubsportNL, Tillicoultry Quarries, NLC Housing and Regeneration Services, Tunnocks and Motherwell FC."


There are no comments yet. Why not be the first to comment.

Please enter the letters as they are shown in the image above.
Letters are not case-sensitive.